Garden Tea Party

July 14, 2011 at 8:35 pm Leave a comment

This past weekend we hosted a tea party in our backyard for my daughter and 4 of her friends. We made tea party hats, tiny tea sandwiches, and the girls enjoyed drinking their tea (aka apple juice) in tea cups that they took home with them. Since it was a garden tea party, we also decorated clay flower pots and the girls took home their very own package of seeds and child-sized gardening gloves. And because every girl needs a fairy wand, I made some fairy wands, but we sent these home in the goodie bags; I had fears someone losing an eye – this was a healthy-high-energy group of girls. Here are some pictures from the big day.


Since the girls are still pretty young, I invited the parents to stay. To keep them refreshed I made a few summer plates of veggies, meats and cheese, and fruit. And keeping with the tea party theme, I made some seasonal iced-tea.

Strawberry Iced-tea (modified from Martha Stewart)

I modified this recipe from one of Martha Stewart’s creations. She called for basil and sugar in her recipe. I changed it up a bit by using spearmint since I have a huge crop growing in the yard. Next time I think I will swap out the sugar for sucanant or honey instead and dial back the amount a bit. I also doubled the recipe and it worked out just fine. You could probably use just about any berry in this tea, or even peaches when they are in season. I like mint, but I might try peach and basil next time with green or white tea. I used a giant pickle jar to make and serve the tea, but a large pitcher would work just fine too; I just don’t own one.

  • 8 black-tea bags
  • 2 cups strawberries, hulled and halved (quartered if large)
  • 1 cup water, plus more for steeping
  • 3/4 cup sugar (or sweetener of your choice)
  • 1 cup fresh mint
  • Ice, for serving

Bring 4 cups of water to a boil in a medium saucepan. Add tea bags, and let steep for 5 minutes. Remove tea bags and set aside.

Place strawberries in a large mason jar. Bring water and sugar to a boil in a small saucepan, stirring until sugar dissolves. Remove from heat, add mint, and let steep for 10 minutes. Strain over strawberries; discard mint. Toss to coat. Let stand until cool, about 25 minutes. Add the tea to the strawberries (with syrup) in the jar. Refrigerate until chilled. Serve over ice, and garnish with fresh mint.

 

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , , , .

Been busy! We’re melting

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


