De Sauce

May 30, 2011 at 8:15 pm Leave a comment

A couple weeks ago… maybe three, a nice elderly fella stopped by and asked me about my giant hibiscus plant in my front garden. He wanted to know what it was called.  This is a special hibiscus plant. My grandfather grew it from seed. He grew many of these plants and I was a very happy recipient of one about six years ago. I promptly planted my hibiscus in my front garden and it has done very well there. I wish I had a picture to show it to you in full bloom. It is such a show stopper that we’ve actually have a car accident in front of the house when it was in bloom. I heard the person who caused the accident say that they were looking at the plant. I promise to take a picture later this summer to show you the size of the flowers. Anyway, I told this kind gentleman of 83 to come back in a couple weeks and I would dig him up a piece. I finally saw him again today and I had a plant ready for him. He came back later to collect his plant, and he brought with him a jar of homemade pasta sauce. He said, in his thick Italian accent “I givea you de sauce. I give no one de sauce.” I think I may have acquired something good here and such a treat too. I was going to just give him some of my plant… I will let you know how de sauce tastes tomorrow, but it sure looks good… look at all that basil and garlic.

Entry filed under: Gardening. Tags: , .

Make it Monday: Sunflowers De Sauce Part II

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


