Fresh: Plain and Simple

April 17, 2011 at 5:08 pm Leave a comment

The theme of this post is all about “fresh”; my desire to be out of the dust and into fresh air, a new wine that goes by Fresh, and a couple fresh new recipes created today by me.

The hallway walls are getting a good sanding this weekend. Yikes – that is a lot of dust. I find plaster dust very hard on the skin. Even if I don’t actually partake in sanding myself, I find my skin gets dry just being in the presence of it. Here I go complaining again… I’m trying not to, really I am, but it has been a long winter with a lot of dust and the storm windows have prevented me from opening the windows for even a hint of fresh air.

A while back, I promised that I would share the hidden staircase that we were planning on using when we refinish the hallway floors. This was a picture from upstairs. Looks totally usable, right? I’m afraid not… the former owners removed far too much of the staircase and it is about a 3 foot drop to the floor. Most of the staircase opening is also blocked by pipes. Sounds terrible, I know, but this gives me a very good reason to head south while the floors get refinished, don’t you think? See, I can be optimistic during this crazy renovation! A good wine helps too.

Real wine connoisseurs out there would likely scold me for pairing red wine with fish, but in our house we drink what we like. Today, we like Fresh Cabernet Gamay. This wine is described as having a clear deep ruby colour; cherry, licorice and pepper aromas; dry, medium body; and ripe black fruit flavours with soft tannins. I describe it as light and tasty. Try it and let me know what you think.

And a couple fresh new recipes from my kitchen:

Sweet Potato and Mushroom Hash with a Side of Simple Haddock

I had full intentions of buying salmon at the market today. I’m not a big fan of seafood, but I don’t mind salmon and rainbow trout. However, before I knew what I was saying, I asked for two haddock fillets. I don’t know how or why this happened. Since I don’t normally eat haddock, I didn’t want to dress it up too much. I wanted to see what it actually tastes like. So this entire meal was kept very simple, which is nice on Friday after a long week.

Sweet Potato and Mushroom Hash

  • 2 small or 1 medium sweet potato, peeled and diced
  • 2 cups mushrooms, cleaned and sliced
  • 1 tablespoon safflower oil
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • ½ teaspoon sea salt
  • ½ cup green onions, chopped

Simple Haddock

  • 2 haddock fillets
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice, freshly squeezed
  • 1 tablespoon fresh chives, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon extra virgin olive oil
  • ¼ teaspoon sea salt
  • dash of cayenne

To make the sweet potato and mushroom hash, warm up the oil and butter in a medium-sized skillet. Add the mushrooms and sauté until soft and most of the water from the mushrooms has been absorbed (about 7 minutes). Remove the mushrooms from the skillet and keep warm. If needed, add a bit more oil to the skillet. Add the sweet potatoes and sauté until browned on all sides and soft in the centre (about 10 minutes). Be sure to flip the potatoes around the pan as they cook so that all sides brown. Add the mushrooms back to the skillet, sprinkle with salt and garnish with green onions.

Preheat your barbeque* or oven to 375F degrees. To make the haddock you will need to make an aluminum foil packet lined with wax or parchment paper big enough to fit both haddock fillets. Place the fillets side-by-side in the centre of the packet. Drizzle with oil and lemon juice and sprinkle with chives, salt and cayenne. Close up the packet, and if cooking in the oven place on a baking sheet. Bake in the oven for about 15 to 20 minutes or on the barbeque for 10 to 15 minutes (length of cooking time will depend on the thickness of your fillets). Serve alongside sweet potato and mushroom hash.

* I don’t like fish smells in the house so I always cook fish outside on the barbeque.

Entry filed under: Hallway, Projects, Recipes, Wine. Tags: , , , .

Going Bananas Spring?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


