Going Bananas

April 12, 2011 at 7:43 pm 1 comment

I have been very tired lately and not feeling particularly inspired. Work has been busy and the dust in my house from the hallway reno is driving me bananas. But life is not all bad. My friend Heather put a pink hyacinth on my desk at work this morning. I’m looking forward to seeing it bloom. My mom tells me they smell nice too.

Here is something to chew on while I’m going bananas from all of the dust.

Banana Carob Chip Muffins

I’m not sure if carob chips have dairy in them, but if not, then this recipe somehow ended up being egg and dairy free. I started with a basic banana muffin recipe and kept changing the recipe until I was certain that they had more goodness in them than bad.

  • 1 ¼ cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • ¾ cup brown rice flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • ½ teaspoon sea salt
  • 3 ripe bananas, well mashed
  • ¾ cup rice milk plus 1 teaspoon cider vinegar
  • 1/2 cup sucanat
  • ¼ cup apple sauce
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ½ cup carob chips

Preheat your oven to 350F degrees. Line a standard muffin tray (12 muffins) with muffin papers and set aside.

In a small bowl, mash the bananas really well and set aside. In a separate bowl or in a one cup measure add the vinegar to the rice milk and set aside.

In a large bowl, sift together the flours, baking powder and salt. Add the sugar, apple sauce, milk, bananas, vanilla and chocolate chips to the flour mixture. Stir until just combined. Divide the batter among the 12 muffin cups and bake for 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the centre of a muffin comes out clean.

These muffins are very moist and best stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

Entry filed under: Hallway, Recipes. Tags: , , .

On my Nightstand Fresh: Plain and Simple

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. veggiegrettie  |  April 12, 2011 at 11:48 pm

    Yum…I love banana muffins and carob is a favorite too 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


