On my Nightstand

March 30, 2011 at 7:54 pm Leave a comment

It’s been a while since I shared what I’ve been reading. Here is a selection from the last little while.

  • I bought Green Smoothie Revolution by Victoria Boutenko because I was tired of searching high and low on the Internet for green smoothie recipes that are palette pleasing. I’ve made several recipes from the book and I have been very surprised by several of the recipes so far. This book also contains some good summaries on the health benefits of different greens and why it is important to switch up your greens.
  • Clean Food by Terry Walters is a cookbook that I thought I would test-drive from the library. I am becoming quite frantic as the due date approaches. I’ve bookmarked more recipes than I usually ever do. The banana-coconut-carob cookies are a favourite and the miso dressing has been the star of my salad all week. I think I might have to buy this one.
  • Green Crafts for Children by Emma Harding is full of inspiring craft projects for kids. However, it isn’t as green as I had hoped it would be. I was looking more for craft projects that use objects taken from nature and the focus here is more on recycled materials. Nevertheless, I copied a few of the craft projects in this book for future projects with my daughter before I returned it to the library.
  • Farm by Elisha Cooper is a great children’s book. It tells a story about a farm; plain and simple just like the title. The illustrations are beautiful and, I would think that any child that has visited a farm could relate to this book. For those who haven’t, this book will give them a realistic vision of how a farm operates.
  • I am still reading Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer. I started this well researched book last summer. I had to put it down after the author visited the pig farm. Every now and again I pick it up and read another chapter, but it is slow going. Unfortunately I am a visual learner and I can picture far too much of what he is describing. This book will change what you buy and what you eat. Trust me.
  • The Curious Garden by Peter Brown is a delightful tale of a little boy who starts a garden on abandoned railroad tracks and how his garden transforms an otherwise bleak city. This children’s book is inspiring and a good approach to early understandings of nature in the city and human-environment relations.

What are you reading?

Entry filed under: Coffee Break, Greener. Tags: , , .

Make it Monday: Make it Maple! Going Bananas

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


