Gluttony… it doesn’t have to be this way

January 19, 2011 at 8:34 pm Leave a comment

This is what I was reading while I was sipping my 250ml of raw hot chocolate (super powered with raw cacao, maca powder and flax seeds) this morning. Starbuck’s is introducing a new 916ml Trenta Cup for its sweet teas. The average size of the human stomach is 900ml. I couldn’t imagine drinking more than the size of my stomach (even though its capacity increases as I consume) in one sitting; not to mention the bathroom breaks you would need, and the crazy headaches you would get from all the sugar in “sweet” tea. Why do people need the Trenta Cup? Really?

Why not enjoy a moderate sized beverage, not laden with sugar instead?

Hot Chocolate

  • 3 tablespoons raw cacao powder or cocoa powder
  • 1 tablespoon maca powder
  • 2 tablespoons agave nectar (or honey)
  • 2 tablespoons flax seeds
  • 3 cups non-dairy milk (rice, hemp, almond, etc.)

Give this a whirl in a high speed blender. If you don’t have a high speed blender then you might want to strain it through a fine sieve to make it super smooth. You may also want to heat your milk up as well. I find my Vitamix heats it up enough, but you may want it a bit warmer – just don’t boil it. Makes 2 servings, one of which I shared this morning with my friend Heather.


Entry filed under: Recipes, Things I think about. Tags: , .

Gingerbread Muffins Meet Ruby

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


