Gingerbread Muffins

December 22, 2010 at 3:19 pm 2 comments

Sometimes, when my thyroid meds aren’t quite right I cannot seem to do much of anything. It becomes hard to get a restful sleep or cook a healthy meal (which is what I really need the most when things aren’t balanced). I seem to be getting out of the latest “slump” so to speak and I have been back in the kitchen. I was actually kicked into high gear when two of my family members needed my attention 2 weeks ago; I had no choice but to get moving. Now, I am hungry, and hungry for good, healthy food. I’m still a bit tired, but last night I wanted a treat, and since it is the holiday season, I wanted something holidayish, but quick. I was hoping that these cupcakes would inspire me to start wrapping Christmas presents…

Gingerbread Cupcakes in a Minute

Okay, so maybe these cupcakes took a bit more than a minute to make, but I did have them in the oven in under 10 minutes. That is pretty speedy in my world. These cupcakes would be good with some whipped cream or vegan whipped cream.

  • 1 cup whole wheat pastry flour (or spelt flour)
  • ½ teaspoon ginger powder
  • ½ teaspoon cinnamon
  • ¼ teaspoon nutmeg
  • ½ teaspoon baking powder
  • ¼ teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon fine sea salt
  • 1 egg white
  • 1/3 cup molasses
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 3 tablespoons coconut oil (melted, cooled slightly)

Preheat the oven to 350F degrees. Line a muffin tin with eight muffin liners. Set aside. Mix the flour, spices, baking powder, baking soda and salt together in a medium bowl. Set aside. In a small bowl, lightly beat the egg white. Add the molasses, water and melted coconut oil and stir together. Add the wet mixture to the dry mixture and stir just until combined. Spoon into the prepared muffin cups. Bake for 15 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the cupcakes comes out clean.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , .

My Local Sweet Potatoes go to Thailand Gluttony… it doesn’t have to be this way

2 Comments Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


