Do Century Homes Need a Cat?

September 21, 2010 at 8:26 am Leave a comment

I guess you can imagine where this post is going. It is fall, the temperatures outside have dropped quickly, I’m baking again, and my husband is doing some work in the basement which involves leaving the window open without a screen for countless hours each day… The neighbourhood mice have viewed all of this as a welcome invitation. Welcome they are not. I have spent endless hours since they were discovered cleaning and sanitizing, which now involves a nightly ritual of scrubbing down counters, vacuuming, and trying to instill the importance of putting all dirty dishes in the dishwasher and securing the door; I may as well be talking to the wall… Every year around this time I wonder if we should adopt a mouser kitten. I am not certain about living with a cat. I’ve never had the opportunity. I do know, however, that it would sicken me to have a cat stroll across kitchen counters or across the dining room table. We trained our dog not to counter surf so maybe a cat can be trained too? I do have a lot of questions about cats. My cousin Elizabeth has two cats, she has had cats forever, and I think she volunteers at a cat shelter. I think I will have to enlist Elizabeth in helping me with my cat questions and maybe, just maybe she can work with Santa and I to bring us a kitten for Christmas. I’m sure the mice will be gone by then, they usually are, but I don’t trust myself to pick out a kitten, so hopefully she will help… and answer my gazillion questions (especially about the one about declawing – I’ve just set off the alarm bells of the animal rights activists, haven’t I?)

If you happen to know any informative cat websites, or have any funny cat stories to tell, please share! I still need a bit of convincing. We also have to convince our dog that this is a good idea too!

Entry filed under: Things I think about. Tags: .

Stormy Weather Great Canadian Shoreline Cleanup

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


