Cabbage

August 19, 2010 at 8:15 pm Leave a comment

It was one of those mornings where I woke up and wanted steak (my iron must be low) and cabbage, which is something I grew up on. I have written before about how smells conjure up memories. This time, my cabbage cooking reminded me of my Nana’s house. At 91 (I don’t think I am supposed to tell you her age) she is still making cabbage rolls. That is pretty impressive. She doesn’t do anymore canning, but I learned enough from her and my own mom to know what I am doing. It is sort of like making eggplant parmesan… I just instinctively know how to do it. I have no pictures of the cabbage because we ate it all, but here is a simple recipe that you might like to try.

I Grew Up Eating Cabbage

  • 1 small head of cabbage (green or savoy), shredded (thin)
  • 1/2 of a red onion, sliced thin
  • 1 clove garlic, sliced thin (or more to taste)
  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Heat the oil in a large skillet. Lower the heat and add the onion and garlic and cook until soft, about 5 minutes. Add the cabbage and stir often. You want to carmalize it a bit and you want it all to soften, about 15 minutes. Season with salt and pepper to taste and add sour cream. Stir thoroughly and serve immediately. Think about your Grandma and enjoy.

Entry filed under: Recipes, Things I think about. Tags: .

Avoiding the Bathroom Restoration Part I: The Isle of Spice It’s Tomato Time

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


