Inspiring Books

July 7, 2010 at 8:41 pm Leave a comment

A recent contest on the You Grow Girl blog asked what book is inspiring us lately. I couldn’t narrow it down to just one book. Here’s what is inspiring me right now, all by Canadian authors, which was not my intention. Not listed in any inspirational order:

Locavore by Sarah Elton (2010). What a treat this book has been and what an inspiration. I want to quit my job and start an urban garden… right now. But in the face of reality, I will continue to source out local foods at the many farmers’ markets in town and nearby. For example, a recent trip to Morden’s Organic Farm Store has been providing us with local, naturally raised meats.

Ripe from Around Here by Jae Steele (2010). This is a great vegan cookbook featuring locally purchased foods. I’m not vegan myself but I love the way Jae approaches local food in this book. I made her Rawsberry Cheesecake on the weekend (I made a different crust) and it was fabulous. Next up: watermelon juice – so simple, but I would never have thought of it, and it will be refreshing in this heat wave we are experiencing in southern Ontario.

Grow Great Grub by Gayla Trail (2010). This book is very inspirational for the home gardener. I just wish Gayla made house calls – I’m not too sure my vegetable garden is going to make it. The recipes in this book are also a bonus! If you purchase this book, you might also like Gayla’s other book: You Grow Girl.

The most inspiring thing about all of these books for me is that they are written by Canadian women – we have so much talent here!

Entry filed under: A good read, Gardening. Tags: , , .

Colour??? I’m Cracking Up!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


