Masking Paint Odours: Bake!

June 8, 2010 at 8:36 am Leave a comment

We have painted the bathroom; you saw the paint chip. We have hooked up the sewer lines… and now we’ll add a few finishing touches, like some art, bath mats… that sort of thing. I have to decide about the light fixture that will hang over the tub. I have a chandelier that came with the house. I thought I would clean it up and paint it white or chrome (to match the fixtures), but I’m not sure. I do like the idea of reusing… What do you think? Should I buy a modern light fixture or use a chandelier with a lot of sparkling crystals? Send me a comment below and let me know!

In between painting, I have been baking. In addition to using low odour paint, opening the windows and running an air purifier, baking really helps with paint odour…sure it is only masking it, but it does smell better! I made the graham pillows again. I just can’t get enough of these, despite all that butter… My husband asked if they had chocolate in them and when I said no, he wasn’t too interested. Back in the day, before I read food labels, I used to enjoy Nutella, which just celebrated World Nutella Day, by the way.  Unfortunately, after reading the label on this product, I could not bring myself to eat it anymore. So, I made my own! The internet is laden with homemade nutella recipes; just Google it. But beware, many of the recipes contain loads of sugar – you may as well just buy a jar. I found this recipe instead. What I like about it is that it is low in sweeteners and you store it in the fridge, which makes it difficult for spreading (unless you leave it out a room temperature for a while), but great for baking in the centre of my graham pillows – add a small marshmallow and you have smores. You can also heat it up and drizzle it over grilled pineapple and strawberries with a sprinkling of coconut.  Or place a dollop in the centre of some homemade chocolates. This is better than the real thing.

 A Healthier Nutella

Hazelnut skins can be quite bitter. Be sure to roast the hazelnuts at 350F degrees for 10 minutes and rub the skins off using a tea towel or your nutella will taste very bitter. If you want your nutella to be a bit sweeter, you can substitute the agave for honey.

  •  1 cup hazelnuts, roasted and skins removed 
  • ¼ cup cocoa powder
  • 5 tablespoons agave nectar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1 to 2 tablespoons hazelnut oil
  • pinch sea salt

In a food processor, grind the hazelnuts to a smooth butter, which should take anywhere between 3 to 5 minutes depending on your machine. Scrape the sides as needed. Once the hazelnuts form a butter consistency, add the cocoa, agave, vanilla, oil and salt. Process until well blended. Store in a in the refrigerator. You will want to bring the nutella to room temperature prior to serving, unless you are going to bake with it.

Entry filed under: Bathroom, Projects, Recipes. Tags: , , .

Building a Climber from “Junk”: Are we nuts? Colour???

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


