Making Mother’s Day Chocolates

May 20, 2010 at 8:45 pm Leave a comment

Every year I buy my mom the prettiest hanging baskets I can find. This way she can enjoy her Mother’s Day all summer. I also like to get her a little something-something that she can enjoy. She maintains a very healthy diet so I don’t want to load her up with milk chocolates and other sweets since she has worked so hard at staying away from these goodies. She does love her chocolate though. And so, taking inspiration from Megan Telpner, I made my mom some super food chocolates, and since I am a mom too, I kept some for myself – these will help me get over my unfinished bathroom, I’m sure of it! (However, you should know that I spent my Mother’s Day painting all of the trim in the bathroom… sigh.)

I Love You Mom Chocolates

I used what I was sure that my mom would like in these healthy chocolates, but feel free to experiment, and be sure to visit Making Love in the Kitchen for other ideas. Just in case you’re wondering, I ground the goji berries in a coffee grinder I only use for spices and such. I used a butterfly chocolate mold for these chocolates so the ingredients listed were what I required for the mold. If you like these chocolates, you might also like these chocolate raspberry boats too.

  • 115 grams dark chocolate (at least 70% cocoa), chopped
  • 1/8 cup brown rice crispies
  • 1/4 teaspoon bee pollen
  • 1/4 tablespoon gogi berries, ground
  • 2 teaspoons unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1 teaspoon raw cocoa nibs

In a double boiler (I use a bowl over a pot of water – just make sure the water doesn’t creep up the sides of the bowl), melt the chocolate. Stir constantly – you don’t want to burn the chocolate! Once melted, remove from heat and set aside to cool down a bit (about 5 minutes). Sprinkle the brown rice crispies, bee pollen, gogi berries, coconut and cocoa nibs evenly over the chocolate mold (or unevenly if a three year-old is doing it – but it’s all about Gramma love isn’t it?). Carefully pour the melted chocolate into the mold. Cool the chocolate in the freezer or fridge. Once cooled, pop the chocolate out of the mold and wrap it up extra special for your mom/gramma.

Share with your mom.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: .

A Gardener? No, not me… Birdie

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


