A Gardener? No, not me…

May 13, 2010 at 10:07 am Leave a comment

Let me start this post by saying that I have never considered myself a gardener. Alas, spring has sprung and it is time to tend to the outside gardens, and… create a  new one; a small vegetable garden. Everything in the flower gardens seem to be doing really well. After the rain we got last year, I half expected some things to drown and not come back. But things are looking okay, and after my success growing cucumber plants last year from seed, I am ready to tackle a bit more than just hostas in my gardens this year.

My plans are underway for our kiddie themed vegetable garden. I just have to wait for the old oak that succumbed to my neighbour’s new asphalt driveway to come down first. I have acquired the seeds and even grown some plants (okay – the easy ones – peas and beans) for the veggie garden… but today was about the flower gardens. One of my fellow colleagues, Jen, is an avid gardener and she invited me to go to the Royal Botanical Garden’s annual plant sale today. It was fun, albeit a bit overwhelming, but I’ll be adding a bit more adventure to my flower gardens as a result. I did purchase a couple more hostas, but I did go out of my comfort zone. I have to admit, I purchased most of my plants based on their names, which Jen says is a sign of a true gardener. I’m not sure this applies to me, but here is my loot:

 

Thanks for asking me to tag along Jen! I’ll post a few pictures of my evolving gardens once we get more into the summer and things have a chance to bloom. Some day, our gardens will do our century home justice! A driveway may help with curb appeal as well…

Entry filed under: Gardening. Tags: , .

I Heart Mason Jars! Making Mother’s Day Chocolates

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


