Pretty Little Chocolates

May 10, 2010 at 7:58 am Leave a comment

Have you ever committed yourself to bringing a dessert or treat to the office, a get-together, or whatnot? And then, the day approaches and you just don’t feel like making something, but you can’t bring yourself to go out and buy the weekly special at the grocery store? Sound familiar? A few weekends ago, my daughter got a cold, and although she was in good spirits I knew it meant I was going to be up a lot during the night, and yet, I had promised a treat for a meeting that already wasn’t on anyone’s favourite list. I needed something quick and easy and I really didn’t feel like baking, especially if it involved a cooling time before icing. So I came up with these pretty little chocolates that actually contain some healthier components to them. I presented them with a bowl of fruit to add an even healthier element, which doesn’t seem to be the norm for office meetings. It’s nice to change things up every now and again, don’t you think?

Raspberry Chocolate Boats

 Makes 24 chocolates. I made both milk chocolates and dark chocolates, but you can make whichever you like best. Just omit one of the chocolates and double up on the other. I used coconut, gogi berries, raw cocoa nibs and Himalayan pink salt with fresh mint leaves as garnishes, but you can use whatever suits your palate. You can also use whatever fruit your little heart desires, but I really like chocolate and raspberries together.

  •  24 mini muffin wrappers
  • 200 grams milk chocolate, chopped
  • 200 grams dark chocolate, chopped (look for at least 70% cocoa)

 To garnish, I used the following (resulted in four different types of chocolates)

  • 24 raspberries, washed and dried
  • 2 tablespoons unsweetened coconut flakes
  • 1 teaspoon gogi berries, ground in a spice (coffee) grinder.
  • 1/8 teaspoon Himalayan pink salt
  • 2 tablespoons raw cocoa nibs
  • 6 tiny mint leaves

Line a mini muffin tin with your muffin liners. I find this gives the muffin liners a bit more support. In a double-boiler (I used a mixing bowl over a pot of water – just make sure the water doesn’t creep up the sides) melt one of the chocolates; stir constantly, it melts fast! Spoon the chocolate into the muffin liners leaving about an 1/8th of an inch room for expansion when you add the raspberry. Wait about five minutes and gently push a raspberry into the centre of each chocolate and sprinkle with your desired topping. Clean your bowl and spoon and repeat with the other chocolate. I topped six of the milk chocolates with coconut flakes and the other six with raw cocoa nibs. For six the dark chocolates, I used pink salt with a mint leaf and for the others, I sprinkled them with ground up gogi berries.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , .

Wake up Computer! And Graham Cracker Pillows I Heart Mason Jars!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


