Wake up Computer! And Graham Cracker Pillows

May 6, 2010 at 8:01 pm Leave a comment

The lack of posts as of late is because my computer got a boo-boo. However, while she was away, I still wrote up a few posts, but alas… I had to wait for her return so that I could upload my pictures. So, I’ll have several for you over the next few days to make up for our little break.

Since my computer preferred to sleep instead of work, I thought these little graham cracker pillows, as I am calling them, seemed to fit this post. I was inspired by the home-made pop-tarts recipe on Smitten Kitchen, but I don’t like to use all that white flour, so I changed the recipe up. Here is what I did.

A healthy take on "pop tarts"

Graham Cracker Pillows

I used a mix of whole wheat pastry flour and graham flour for this recipe, but feel free to experiment with other flours as well. I found this mixture gave these little pillows an airy texture and a rich flavour. I also swapped out the sugar for honey. For the filling I used cherry jam that I infused with a vanilla bean. Unlike the original recipe, I didn’t see the need to add cornstarch to the jam to thicken it.

Pastry

  • 1 ½ cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 1 cup graham flour
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup or 2 sticks of butter, diced
  • 1 tablespoon honey
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tablespoons milk (or almond milk)
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten (for brushing pastry)

Filling

  • 1 cup jam
  • 1 vanilla bean

Make the filling first so that it has a chance to cool. In a small sauce pan, combine the jam and the vanilla bean. Scrape out the seeds of the vanilla bean and add to the jam along with the vanilla bean pod. Bring to a simmer and remove from heat. Set aside.

In a food processor, combine flours and salt. Pulse in the butter so that the mixture resembles a coarse meal. In a small bowl whisk together the honey, 1 egg and milk. In a large bowl, mix the flour and butter mixture with the egg mixture until everything comes together. Divide the dough into two rectangles.

Roll the dough on a lightly floured surface measuring a 9×12 inch rectangle and about 1/8 inch thick. Repeat with the second piece of dough. Cut each piece into 9 rectangles measuring 3×4 inches. Brush the edges of 9 of the rectangles with the egg. Remove the vanilla bean pod from the jam mixture and discard. Place a heaping tablespoon of the jam in the centre of the egg-washed square making sure to leave about ½ an inch around the edge of each rectangle. Place a rectangle of dough over a jam filled one, and gently press the edges down to seal in the jam filling. Press the tines of a fork all around the edge of the rectangle, and using a skewer, carefully poke holes in the tops of each pillow (tart). Repeat with the remaining pillows. Place the pillows on a parchment-line baking sheet and refrigerate for 30 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat your oven to 350F degrees.

Bake the pillows for 25 minutes or until they are just starting to brown around the edges. Leave on the pan to cool.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: , .

Recipe Page Pretty Little Chocolates

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


