Tiling and Experimenting with Bacteria

February 15, 2010 at 4:34 pm Leave a comment

Since we are focused on the bathroom renovation as of late, I thought it only appropriate to also write about bacteria in today’s post. But first, a bathroom update.

It was a productive weekend. The shower glass has been ordered. It should be ready in two to three weeks necessitating tiling of the shower pronto! I’m tempted to post a sneak peek at the tiling job my husband has worked so hard on, but I think I will wait until the end. You will just have to wait, but I promise to do a sequence for you. Just so you know, every tile has been perfectly cut and put in place. This is going to be a long process; let’s just hope he can get it done before the glass comes! Stay tuned to see if perfectionist husband can complete painstakingly perfect shower tiling in three weeks or less.

While he was busy with tiles, my daughter and I followed our normal weekend routine… baby ballet, groceries, visiting grandma and papa and a kitchen adventure. No weekend is complete without kitchen playtime. We experimented earlier in the week with a seeded muffin. Mo carefully placed a small smattering of seeds on each muffin. There is no doubt in my mind where she gets her perfectionism from (see above). The muffins were good, but they need a little tweaking so you’ll have to wait. Sorry, more waiting… Our great kitchen adventure of the week, however, was making coconut milk yogurt. Dairy yogurt and I don’t always get along so I was looking for something different. I did use a dairy starter, but in time I imagine this will get weaned out of my yogurt if I reserve some of the yogurt I make as a starter. Not ever having made any type of yogurt before, I used the internet as a resource to get started. I found this site helpful, and this is what I did:

Creamy Coconut Milk Yogurt

  • 3 – 398 millilitre cans coconut milk
  • 5 grams of acidophilus starter
  • scant ¼ cup of honey

Good bacteria versus bad bacteria – sterilize all your containers and mixing spoons and utensils with boiling water. I would not skip this step. I waited to sterilize the glass dish I was going to use to incubate the yogurt in until I was ready for this step so that the yogurt would be kept warm throughout the process.

Attach a candy thermometer to a heavy-bottomed sauce pan so that the thermometer does not touch the bottom of the pan. Bring the coconut milk to 125-140 degrees F and remove from heat. Cover and cool the coconut milk to between 105 and 114 degrees F (adjust this depending on the directions for your starter). This will take almost two hours. If you rush this and add your starter too soon, you may kill it. When cooled, remove about a ½ cup of the coconut milk and add your starter to it. Stir making sure all of your started is dissolved. Add this mixture and the honey to the coconut milk. Stir well. Pour the yogurt into your sterilized glass dish and let stand for 24 hours between 95 and 105 degrees F. I achieved this without any fancy yogurt makers by turning my oven light on and closing the door. It is probably best to heat your oven up to 100 degrees F before putting the yogurt in, but I was trying to achieve this temperature with the warming drawer on my oven prior to putting it in so my oven was already warm. (The warming drawer on low heated up to 220 degrees F! The things you learn about your oven when trying to make yogurt). Now wait – 24 hours. Take it out; give it a taste to see if it has that yogurt tang. If it does, then you have made yogurt. Refrigerate your yogurt and you should find that it thickens up quite a bit. Enjoy with berries, a drizzle of honey or however you like your yogurt, you’ve waited over 24 hours for this moment and it is well worth it.

Entry filed under: Bathroom, Recipes. Tags: , .

Life is Good! Seedy Saturday… Seedy Muffins

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


