Sunday: Sills and Soup

February 2, 2010 at 8:48 pm Leave a comment

Bathroom: the granite sills have been installed! What's next?

Sunday was a productive day at century home central. The bathroom is taking shape. We (and by we, I mean my husband and his son) got all the granite sills up around the shower and around the bathtub platform. I think this means I can paint now, which is likely how I will be spending next weekend. I think this also means that we can call in the glass folks to measure things up and make our glass door; or maybe the tiles have to be installed first. I am never sure of these things. It seems like everything is contingent on something, but it always seems to change to suit what my husband feels like doing next. I guess it is his prerogative since he is doing most of the work. While they were working away in the bathroom, my daughter and I went to visit grandma and papa so that we were out-of-the-way, which meant I needed a quick and easy supper. Until now, I have never taken the time to write out my version of Broccoli Cheddar Soup. It is one of my favourites and it is so easy to make. This recipe makes quite a bit of soup and it is even better the next day.

I like to put my soup in a mason jar for easy transport to work. There is nothing worse than a lunch bag full of soup from a leaky container.

 

 

Cheesy Broccoli Soup

  • 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium-sized onion, small dice
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely diced (or less depending on your taste)
  • 2 celery stalks, small dice
  • 2 carrots, peeled and small dice
  • 2 small potatoes, small dice or 1 ½ cups
  • 2 small heads of broccoli or 3 ½ cups broccoli, small dice (use the stalks too)
  • 6 cups vegetable stock (or chicken stock – you can also use water)
  • 1 cup grated cheddar (I use old cheddar)
  • Salt and pepper to taste

In a dutch oven or large soup pot over medium heat, warm the olive oil and sauté onion until soft, about 3 minutes. You don’t want it to brown. If it starts to brown, turn down the heat a touch. Add the garlic and sauté for another minute. Then add the celery, carrots, potatoes, and broccoli. Sauté until the vegetables start to soften, about 5 minutes. If the bottom of your pot starts to blacken, add a touch of water. When the vegetables have softened somewhat add the stock. Bring to a simmer, cover and cook until the vegetables break apart when pierced with a fork or knife. This should only take about 10 to 12 minutes. Puree the mixture in batches in a blender. In a clean pot bring the pureed mixture back up to a simmer and stir in the grated cheddar. Add salt and pepper to your liking.

Entry filed under: Projects, Recipes. Tags: , .

Hibernating Life is Good!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


