Hibernating

January 27, 2010 at 8:36 pm 2 comments

Ever since my mom introduced me to Lily, I feel like I should be hibernating too. Granted, Lily was a bit busy with over 23 hours of labour, but now she sleeps. Lucky Lily.

In these dull days of winter, I thought I would share with you one of things I do to remind myself, that like Lily, we will all wake up out of the doldrums of winter to warmer temperatures and bright sunshine. Unless you really enjoy winter, which I guess some people do.

Veggie Garden and Seed Catalogues:

Hanging tomatoes and spinach - Summer 2009

Last year I grew a few veggies in containers. No being much of a green thumb I was surprised at the small bounty of cucumbers, cherry tomatoes, herbs, lettuce, spinach and chard I grew. This was such a positive experience, that I am planning a raised bed veggie garden for my daughter based on this children’s vegetable garden theme. Hopefully, my daughter finds it as much fun as I do! I will be changing up the veggies to include her favourites. I will be using this site to determine how many plants I can fit into the garden. I also plan to build a little fence around our garden in hopes of keeping some of our furry friends out – including the family dog who has never learned the difference, to my frustration, between garden and grass.

Last year I planted everything from seed except for my tomatoes. I actually planted my tomatoes upside down. I wish I would have recorded the type of tomatoes I used because it worked really well. They grew in small clusters and we got a lot of tomatoes off this one plant. I also planted the top of my planter with a variety of spinach suitable for containers. I seem to have gotten away from what I was going to tell you about… Right: seed catalogues. I tend to peruse these ones:

I’ll let you know what I plan to plant this year as soon as I muster up the courage to venture out into the cold to measure and mark out my garden plot!

Entry filed under: Gardening, Projects. Tags: .

My comfort food Sunday: Sills and Soup

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jeanette  |  February 20, 2010 at 9:06 pm

    I would love to see some photos of your garden in the making and when it is completed. Gardening is addictive isn’t it? 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


