Cookie Mountain

January 14, 2010 at 9:16 pm Leave a comment

Today was one of those days at work where something big goes wrong with your project… really, really big. In a nut shell – the eLearning software I am using has a glitch with no patch. No patch. A known problem, and no patch. Really, if I’m being optimistic it just means five or so hours of re-narrating a slew (100 or so) slides. It is all so incredibly frustrating. I want this course to be done.

Even halved this recipe made a hundred cookies! This picture isn't even half of them!

When frustrated, some throw things, some sit and sulk, and some take it out in the bedroom (oh la la). Not me. I quietly disappear to the kitchen and I cook or bake. Tonight I prepared the crockpot to cook me a pot of vegetable broth for tomorrow’s risotto. Then I made a slew of black-eyed peas in the pressure cooker; also for tomorrow night and some for the freezer. And even though I was tired from a frustrating day at the computer, I made 100 chocolate chip cookies – and I halved the recipe! The original recipe says it makes between 50 and 80 cookies – they must be big cookies. We are visiting my step-daughter this weekend at university so I thought I would bake her a little treat. I have plenty left over for her brother who we will also see this weekend. The original recipe is the Neiman Marcus recipe that I found on Whipped. However, I adjusted it quite a bit. Here is what I did:

  • 1 cup butter
  • 2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 cup fine demerera sugar (white sugar would work as well)
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2.5 cups oatmeal (pulsed in blender until fine)
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 5 oz. dark chocolate bar, finely chopped
  • 1 cup chocolate chips

Measure oatmeal and then pulse it in a blender until fine and powdery. Add the flour, salt, baking powder and baking soda to the oatmeal and set aside. Cream the butter and both sugars. Add eggs and vanilla and mix until combined. Add the oatmeal mixture and mix until just combined.  Add chocolate chips, and dark chocolate stirring until evenly distributed. Roll the cookie dough into 1 inch balls and place two inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet or parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Bake for 8 to 10 minutes at 375C degrees. Cool on the cookie sheet for 5 minutes before transferring to a cookie rack.

Tip! I rolled the cookie dough into 1 inch balls and I chilled them prior to baking. This is a little trick I learned when making oatmeal cookies to help the cookies keep a nice shape and stay a bit chewy in the centre.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: .

Resolutions My comfort food

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


