Four more sleeps…

December 21, 2009 at 10:03 am Leave a comment

Today is the first day of winter. We haven’t really had any real snow yet… so the few flakes that are fluttering down are kind of nice. Even my mom, who detests the snow, thought the little bit of snow falling was pretty. The last few years we have had a white Christmas. It doesn’t look too promising this year, and it has felt a little less Christmas-like, but I’m sure the snow will come eventually and I’ll be cursing it.

The last few weeks have been all about getting ready for Christmas and fighting insomnia. I’ve been really organized this year so I’m not sure what is causing the insomnia… I certainly don’t feel the usual stress of the holidays. The many sleepless hours have allowed me to finish a really good book in record time. I highly recommend that you add Still Alice to your reading list.

I am so organized this year that I already have the Christmas menu planned. I am hosting Christmas dinner this year with the help of my mom and this is what we’ve planned:

  • roasted garlic mashed potatoes 
  • baked butternut squash with apples
  • wild and white rice with roasted mushrooms, pearl onions and fresh herbs 
  • turkey sausage stuffing 
  • buttery bacon brussels sprouts 
  • greens beans and carrots with fresh thyme 
  • cabbage rolls
  • sauerkraut with kielbasa
  • heirloom beet and orange salad
  • homemade cranberry sauce
  • good ‘ol tommy turkey

…and for dessert… I think I’m going to attempt to connect with the French heritage I married into and make a Bouche de Noel (Yule Log) less the meringue mushrooms that seem to be part of the tradition… they just don’t seem Christmasy to me.

What are you planning for your Christmas dinner?

Entry filed under: A good read, Things I think about.

The Fireplace and Baked Pears: Winter has Arrived Yule Log

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


