Green Eggs and Ham

December 4, 2009 at 8:23 pm Leave a comment

Sometimes the mood just strikes for bacon and eggs. The trouble is, my daughter doesn’t care for eggs so I can never make a meal out of just bacon and eggs. And so, I came up with a compromise. Mo loves peas; so why not make a green pea soup to accompany bacon and eggs. I love making soup. It is just so simple. However, I was in the mood for a challenge. I’ve made my life easy by getting all of my Christmas shopping done early, so I kind of have a bit of free time on my hands, which means a few extra minutes in the kitchen to experiment. I wanted to try something new and I’ve never poached an egg before. This didn’t prove too difficult. A splash of vinegar in gently simmering water, make a little whirlpool with the handle of a wooden spoon, slide egg into the whirlpool from a little dish… and there you have it. After a couple minutes I removed the egg from the water with a slotted spoon. It was easy. I poached four eggs and didn’t break a single yolk. And then the bacon; I prefer to bake my bacon in a 425F degree oven for 15 minutes (give or take). That was a weekday supper. Oh, and don’t forget some baguette. You may prefer your bread toasted, but supper looked and smelled so good, I couldn’t wait for toast!

Green Pea Soup, Poached Eggs and Bacon

Fresh Pea Soup

3 cups fresh or frozen peas

2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

4 green onions, chopped

1 tablespoon butter

1 medium-sized Yukon gold potato, diced

4 cups vegetable or chicken broth

salt and pepper to taste

Saute the green onions and garlic in the butter for three minutes. Add the potato and broth and simmer until the potato is soft. Stir in the peas and simmer for another five minutes. Puree the soup in a blender. Return to the soup pot and season with salt and pepper to taste.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: .

The bathroom tiles have arrived! The Fireplace and Baked Pears: Winter has Arrived

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


