The bathroom tiles have arrived!

November 24, 2009 at 8:08 pm Leave a comment

The basement has been put to rest for the winter. Another project left unfinished. However… the bathroom project has been resurrected!

This story takes a bit of explaining. The bathroom project actually started about six years ago. No, you didn’t read that wrong, I really mean six long years. After a year in the house we discovered that we still had lead water pipes. We hired a company to come and take care of the pipes for us. My husband stayed home to “supervise” and I went off to work. They ran into some trouble running the new pipes and they had to come back to finish the next day. Due to the inconvenience they caused us (we had no sewer line for over 24 hours) they stayed around and took care of another “little” job my husband had planned (without consulting me). I came home to no porch, a giant hole where the porch used to be (later nicknamed the moat), and another hole that was to become a circular driveway. He had no clear plan, so my front yard remained this way for the better part of two years. So, now you’re wondering  how  does this relate to the bathroom.

The bathtub sits in our hallway.

The hallway almost felt empty when the bathtub was finally moved into the bathroom.

The new porch was also an upstairs addition to the house that would become the new bathroom. I have had two granite topped vanities in my hallway for almost five years, and there was a bathtub in the hallway for about a year and half… thank goodness the toilet fit in the attic. But now, after six years, I can see the light at the end of the tunnel and I’m told all will be in place by Christmas. I should mention he didn’t say which year, but I’m being optimistic that I will soak in my tub by the New Year because, you see folks, the tiles have arrived and they are the second last thing to go in. I’m almost giddy with excitement. Once the tiles are in, then the glass people come and measure, build and install our shower door… and then… I will… wait for it… sauna myself in our new steam shower! Only 31 days until Christmas and a soak in my tub.

Entry filed under: Projects. Tags: .

Beef Stew a la Crockpot Green Eggs and Ham

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


