Beef Stew a la Crockpot

November 23, 2009 at 9:18 pm Leave a comment

I seem to be using my crockpot more and more these days. Another testament that winter is coming. My favourite crockpot recipe is for beef stew. I try not to make it a lot because I don’t ever want to feel like saying, “beef stew again…” and my daughter is not too fond of it. The Assistant Director, Garth, at the office I work in has been looking for new and easy crockpot recipes, so I guess it is time to take the recipe out of my brain and onto the Internet.

I’ve modified this recipe from one I found on the Internet years ago, but can still be found here. I’ve adjusted the seasonings because they tend to concentrate more in the crockpot. I don’t recommend leaving out the red wine, but it choose to, then make sure you use a good low sodium beef broth (homemade is best so that you can control the salt content). Like herbs, I find that too much salt in the crockpot can be overwhelming. Feel free to adjust the vegetables and seasonings; this just happens to be our favourite mix after a few years of experimenting. You should find that you can get everything peeled, chopped and in the crockpot in 15 minutes or less!

A simple beef stew that is almost ready when you get home from work.

Beef Stew a la Crockpot

1-1/2 pounds of stewing beef, cubed

2 medium-sized onions, 1 inch dice

2 carrots, peeled and diced in 1 inch chunks

2 celery stalks, diced in 1 inch chunks

10 to 12 baby potatoes, halved (I use a mix or red and white potatoes)

1-1/2 cups of mushrooms, thickly sliced (I use a mix of cremini and white button mushrooms)

1 cup red wine

1 cup low sodium beef broth

1/2 teaspoon dry mustard powder

1/2 teaspoon dried thyme

1/4 teaspoon worcestershire sauce

1 cup frozen peas

2 tablespoons corn starch

3 cups fresh baby spinach (optional)

Set your crockpot heat setting to low. Place all of the ingredients except the peas, spinach and cornstarch in the crockpot. Give it a stir, cover and in 7-1/2 hours turn the heat up to high and add the peas. Mix the cornstarch in a bit of water and add it to the stew. Stir and cover for another 30 minutes on high.

Place a good handful of spinach in each serving bowl and spoon the stew on top. Serve.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: .

Brrr… Tea Time! The bathroom tiles have arrived!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


