Too Much Eggplant

November 12, 2009 at 10:56 am Leave a comment

Eggplant Parm

Late Summer Eggplant Parmesean

“Too many fresh vegetables…. too many fruit flies…” declared my Mum on the phone the other night. The fruit flies can be a problem this time of year. It’s too bad not all vegetables take to the fridge, but what are you going to do?

Make eggplant parmesan you say? And that’s what I did. I have no real recipe for this. I sort of learned how to do it by watching my Mum. It’s one of those things that I can make without any recollection of learning how. After acquiring 3 small to medium-sized eggplant from my Mr. Robins (my parents’ neighbour who has an amazing garden) and several tomatoes of various varieties, I decided to avoid the onslaught of the fruit flies my Mum was complaining about and I made a very tasty eggplant parmesan with the help of my daughter. Someday she too may know how to make it without really knowing how she learned! Or maybe not, with one taste she declared eggplant parmesan as “Yuck”! Maybe someday she will acquire a taste for it.

If I had to write a recipe it would go something like this:

3 small to medium-sized eggplant (peeled and sliced ¼ inch thick)
3 eggs beaten
2 cups breadcrumbs (more if needed)
1 tablespoon dried oregano
1 teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon pepper
½ cup fresh basil leaves
2 cups grated mozzarella
½ cup parmesan cheese
2 cups tomato sauce (I make my own based on this
recipe but I use fresh tomatoes when I can)
extra virgin olive oil for frying

Preheat oven to 350F degress. Combine the breadcrumbs, dried oregano, salt and pepper in a shallow dish. Heat the oil in a frying pan. Dip eggplant slices in egg and then breadcrumb mixture. Fry on both sides until golden. Repeat with all eggplant, but be sure not to crowd the pan. After frying, place eggplant on a paper towel to absorb the excess oil. To assemble, spoon enough sauce to cover the bottom of an 11×8 casserole dish and cover with a layer of the prepared eggplant followed by some fresh basil leaves, sprinkle with a third of the mozzarella and some more sauce. Repeat this two more times to achieve three layers of eggplant. After the final layer, sprinkle the parmesan on top. Cover with foil (I like to spray the foil with cooking spray so it doesn’t stick to the cheese) and place in the preheated oven for 30 to 40 minutes. Remove the foil and place under the broiler until the cheese is bubbly and brown. Wait 10 minutes before serving so that it will come out of the pan without any trouble.

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: .

Why do we need a basement? A Guy, a Bobcat and a Trailer

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


