Early Childhood Educator Appreciation Day Cookies

November 12, 2009 at 11:24 am Leave a comment

Today is Early Childhood Educators Appreciation day. I didn’t even know this day existed until my mum told me about it yesterday morning. Yikes! That didn’t leave me much time. I’m not one to buy presents when an edible present fits the occasion. My daughter is in a rather large daycare centre, and that means a lot of teachers. Sure, she really only has one teacher, Miss Susan, but throughout the day she interacts with a lot of the other teachers, and we always start our day with Miss Barb. I was originally going to make jam tarts, which is really only jam baked in pastry; nothing too difficult and a childhood favourite of mine. However, I didn’t feel like messing about with pastry and I wanted to make something that my daughter could help with. I found an oatmeal raisin cookie recipe at this site that seemed like it would do the trick, and it did. My daughter got to add the raisins to the batter (and she tried to add cheerios, raspberries and barrettes too) so she had a hand in helping to make all of her teachers happy. The recipe suggests chilling the cookie dough before you bake it so that the cookies keep a more rounded shape; this really works. The cookies came out nice and rounded, chewy and they tasted yummy!

I guess when I think about it, I shouldn’t have to rely on a date on the calendar to show my daughter’s teachers how much we appreciate them – but I think they will all be pleasantly surprised today because, like me, they didn’t even know it was ECE appreciation day!

Entry filed under: Recipes. Tags: .

Easy quinoa salad Brrr… Tea Time!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


