Cucumbers

November 12, 2009 at 11:19 am Leave a comment

Inspired by my late grandfather’s vegetable gardens and You Grow Girl, I decided to try to grow some food this summer. Our house is an old farm house so I’m assuming they must have grown vegetables at one time or another. Although this is not a “typical restoration” like fixing old plaster or scraping paint off wood, I would like to think the gardens will contribute to restoring the “character” of the property. Despite having a fair sized yard, I have resorted to container gardening because Riley-the-dog has never quite grasped the concept of staying out of the gardens. We’ve had an herb garden for several years, but this year I planted lettuce, tomatoes, spinach, swiss chard, yellow peppers and cucumbers. I had planted a hot pepper variety as well, but the squirrels dug it out of its pot in favour of their fare. Everything, except the yellow peppers, has grown well. I was a bit disappointed with my swiss chard, but I don’t think it got enough light. I’m going to move the container now that the chard is done and plant some radish, which is supposed to do well this time of year. My cucumbers have been slow to produce, but we’ve had a wet and unseasonably cold summer. It has been raining so much that I’ve hardly had to water so I haven’t been paying too much attention to my vegetable plants. So, you can imagine my delight when I discovered a few tiny cucumbers amongst the numerous blooms on my cucumber plants yesterday. I was even more excited when I discovered a full grown, ready to pick and eat cucumber hidden behind some leaves! And to think that earlier this spring my sister mocked my attempt at growing a garden.

cucumbers

I'm amazed that we were able to grow so many cucumbers in containers this summer.

I think, however, that I may have planted too many cucumber plants, and I planted a double-yield variety to boot… if anyone has a good pickle recipe I think I could use it!

//

 

Entry filed under: Gardening. Tags: .

Makes sense… but when will this end? Easy quinoa salad

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Categories

Archive Posts

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 2 other followers


